Our Next Concert

70th Anniversary Concert

Our next concert will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the founding of the orchestra and Robert Sells' 30th season as conductor.

The concert will take place on Sunday 30th June 2013 at 2.30 p.m. in the Philharmonic Hall.

The programme will comprise -

Mussorgsky (orch Ravel): Pictures at an Exhibition
Shostakovich: Jazz Suite No 2
Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture

Robert Sells has conducted the Crosby Symphony Orchestra since 1982. Whilst he was an undergraduate Robert co-founded the 'Baccholian Singers', a male voice group which became the forerunner of other ensembles such as the 'King's Singers'. He became interested in conducting through contact with the United London Hospitals Orchestra in 1964. He was a consultant surgeon at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital (now retired), specialising in transplants of the kidney and pancreas. He still has a broad interest in Transplantation Research and Bioethics and continues to contribute in these fields. In 1988 Robert conducted the RLPO, the Halle choir and 'Phil' choir in a concert at Manchester's Bridgewater Hall to mark 50 years of the NHS

Pictures at an Exhibition is Mussorgsky's best known show-piece for the virtuoso pianist. Arrangements and orchestratrations have been made by a number of musicians and composers, including the most performed orchestration by Ravel, which we will play on this occasion, and a prog rock version by Emerson, Lake and Palmer. Mussorgsky completed the original in 1874 and Ravel the orchestration in 1922. The work depicts a visit to an exhibition of drawings and watercolours made by Mussorgsky's friend Viktor Hartmann during his travels in Poland, France, and Ukraine. The majority of the pictures from the Hartmann exhibition have now been lost, making it impossible to be sure which works Mussorgsky had in mind. A commonly accepted schedule of pictures is, however, viewed with a recurring promenade from one to the next.

Shostakovich's 'Suite for Stage Variety Orchestra' consists of a collection of movements derived from other of the composer's works. For many years it was mis-identified as the 'Jazz Suite No 2' (hence the title above) which was lost during the second world war and rediscovered in the form of a piano score in the late 1990s. The work we play on this occcasion is in eight movements and was first performed in the West in 1988 in London, conducted by the famed and exiled Rostropovich. The work represents the lighter side of Shostakovich and bears little resemblance to what we would recognise as authentic jazz.

Tchaikovsky composed the 1812 Overture to commemorate his country's victory against Napoleon's invading Grande Armée in 1812. It was completed in 1880 and first performed in Moscow in August 1882. It is very well known and much performed live and in broadcast recordings. It is distinguished by cannon fire, a vast battery of percussion featuring tubular bells, sweeping string passages and flamboyant brass fanfares, all leading some performers into the temptation of excess.

Ticket prices and availability will be announced shortly.